RAILS BOARD EQUITY, DIVERSITY & INCLUSION COMMITTEE MEETING

April 21, 2021 | 10:30 a.m.

RAILS Burr Ridge and Videoconference Sites 125 Tower Drive, Burr Ridge, IL 60527 | 630.734.5000

MINUTES

- WELCOME AND CALL TO ORDER Ms. Hollister, EDI chairperson, greeted members and called the meeting to order at 10:33 p.m.
- 2. ROLL CALL OF MEMBERS

Ms. Palmisano called the roll of the RAILS Board EDI Committee: Victoria Blackmer, Rosie Camargo, Edith Craig, Nate Gass, Amber Hayes, Dianne Hollister, Emily Kiang, Jenna Nemec-Loise (joined at 11:06), Michelle Nielsen-Ott, Andrea Robinson, Leora Siegel, Becky Spratford, Anna Wassenaar

Absent: Megan Ballengee, Cristina Bueno, Michael Campbell, Steve Koebel, Shekinah Lawrence, Sarah McHone-Chase, Kristen Rademacher, Sarah Steiger, Leah White

3. RECOGNITION OF GUESTS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

Ms. Hollister read the following: In accordance with the Government Emergency Administrative Act PA100-0640, the RAILS Board of Directors finds an in-person meeting is not practical or prudent and believes it is in the best interest of RAILS to hold a virtual meeting to perform essential business.

RAILS Burr Ridge: Deirdre Brennan, Monica Harris, Stacy Palmisano (designated minute taker) Via Zoom: Biz Lindsay-Ryan, Karen Goyer, Jody Rubel, Dianna Rusch, Sam Daly, Gwen Gregory, Jillian Champman, Anna Fifhouse, Yvonne C.

There were no announcements.

- 4. PUBLIC COMMENTS There were no public comments.
- 5. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA Ms. Blackmer moved, and Ms. Nielsen Ott seconded that

THE RAILS BOARD EQUITY, DIVERSITY & INCLUSION COMMITTEE AGENDA BE ADOPTED

Roll call was taken: Ayes: Victoria Blackmer, Rosie Camargo, Edith Craig, Nate Gass, Amber Hayes, Dianne Hollister, Emily Kiang, Michelle Nielsen-Ott, Andrea Robinson, Leora Siegel, Becky Spratford, Anna Wassenaar. Nays: none

6. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE FEBRUARY 18, 2021 RAILS BOARD EDI COMMITTEE MEETING Ms. Siegel moved, and Ms. Nielsen Ott seconded that

THE RAILS BOARD EQUITY, DIVERSITY & INCLUSION COMMITTEE FEBRUARY 18, 2021 MINUTES BE APPROVED.

Roll call was taken: Ayes: Victoria Blackmer, Rosie Camargo, Edith Craig, Nate Gass, Amber Hayes, Dianne Hollister, Emily Kiang, Michelle Nielsen-Ott, Andrea Robinson, Leora Siegel, Becky Spratford, Anna Wassenaar. Nays: none

7. EQUITY, DIVERSITY & INCLUSION TERMINOLOGY TRAINING

Ms. Lindsay-Ryan gave a presentation on the terminology and the language on the topic of equity, diversity and inclusion. She discussed the evolution of the terminology along with definitions such as colorblind, prejudice, bias, racism, reverse racism, and power, to list a few. The topics of privilege, white supremacy, intersectionality and macroaggressions were also discussed. The presentation ended with the thought that depending on where people are coming from, there can be multiple perspectives.

8. ADJOURNMENT

Ms. Hollister adjourned the meeting at 12:04 p.m.

Equity, Diversity & Inclusion Committee Members

- RAILS Board: Dianne Hollister (Chair), Michael Campbell, Sarah McHone-Chase, Jenna Nemec-Loise, Becky Spratford
- Member Representatives:
 - Megan Ballengee, Heartland Community College
 - o Victoria Blackmer, Robert R. Jones Public Library
 - Cristina Bueno, Deerfield Public Library
 - Rosie Camargo, Niles-Maine District Library
 - Edith Craig, St. Charles Public Library
 - Nate Gass, Cook Memorial Public Library District
 - o Amber Hayes, ALA's Office of Diversity, Literacy and Outreach
 - Emily Kiang, Downers Grove Public Library
 - Stephan Koebel, Wilmette Public Library
 - Shekinah Lawrence, Elmwood Park Public Library
 - Michelle Nielsen Ott, Methodist College
 - o Kristen Rademacher, Marist High School
 - o Andrea Robinson, Library of Rush University
 - o Leora Siegel, Lenhardt Library, Chicago Botanic Garden
 - Sarah Steiger, Chicago Public Schools
 - Anna Wassenaar, Blue Island Public Library
 - Leah White, Skokie Public Library
- Ex Officio:
 - o RAILS Deirdre Brennan, Monica Harris, Joseph Filapek