## RAILS UNIVERSAL SERVICE COMMITTEE MEETING

Friday, February 5, 2021 |2:30 p.m. RAILS Burr Ridge and Videoconference Sites 125 Tower Drive, Burr Ridge, IL 60527 | 630.734.5000

Join Zoom Meeting to attend: <u>https://railslibraries.zoom.us/j/95558845111</u> Passcode: 495346

## AGENDA

- 1. Welcome Susan Busenbark
- 2. Roll Call of Members Anna Duff
- 3. Introductions of Guests and Announcements Susan Busenbark
- 4. Public Comment Susan Busenbark
- 5. Adoption of Agenda Susan Busenbark
- Approval of the Minutes Susan Busenbark November 26, 2019 RAILS Board Universal Service Committee Meeting
- 7. Welcome New Committee Members Beth Tepen, Becky Spratford and Gail Bush Susan Busenbark
- 8. Review Committee Charge Deirdre Brennan
- 9. Annual Schedule of Meetings for 2021 Deirdre Brennan
- 10. RAILS Pulse Page <a href="https://www.railslibraries.info/issues">https://www.railslibraries.info/issues</a> Deirdre Brennan
- 11. Talking Points for Libraries Deirdre Brennan, Mary Witt
- 12. Legislative Update Since Last Meeting New law, Administrative Rules changes Deirdre Brennan, Greg McCormick
  - 12.1 Cards for Kids (PA 101-632)
  - 12.2 E-Resources Card
  - 12.3 Disabled Veterans' Standard Homestead Exemption
- 13. Other Committee Proposals discussed at November, 2019 meeting Deirdre Brennan
  - 13.1 Multiple Listing Service
  - 13.2 Library Mergers
  - 13.3 Library Cards for Non-resident Minors
  - 13.4 School Library Cards and Reciprocal Borrowing

RAILS Universal Service Committee | February 5, 2021

- 13.5 Tax Bill Formula Options
- 13.6 Statewide Database Proposal
- 14. Role of Community Colleges Deirdre Brennan, Gail Bush
- 15. Other Deirdre Brennan
- 16. Next Steps Susan Busenbark
- 17. Future Meetings and Agenda Items Susan Busenbark
- 18. Adjourn Susan Busenbark

## **Universal Committee Members:**

- Sue Busenbark, Chair
- Beth Tepen
- Becky Spratford
- Gail Bush
- Larisa Good
- Carole Medal
- Lynn Stainbrook
- Catherine Yanikoski
- Greg McCormick
- Gwen Harrison
  - Ex Officio: Deirdre Brennan, Monica Harris, Joe Filapek, Michael Campbell