Document 8.2



16 October 2020

- TO: RAILS Board of Directors
- FROM: Deirdre Brennan

## SUBJECT: Proposed changes in board meeting agenda and voting procedures

We are considering some changes in the procedures for the board meetings.

- Voting- We current call roll alphabetically for each vote. Using a rotating roll call allows everyone a chance to vote first and to vote last. Example: First roll call vote: Sue Busenbark, Michael Campbell, Halle Cox....Alex Vancina (last). Second roll call vote: Michael Campbell, Halle Cox, Percy Harris....Sue Busenbark (last). Third roll call vote: Halle Cox, Percy Harris, Dianne Hollister....Michael Campbell (last).
- 2. Using a consent agenda. A consent agenda groups routine business and reports into one agenda item. The consent agenda can be approved in one action, rather than filing motions on each item separately.

A sample is attached with proposed changes highlighted.

## **REACHING ACROSS ILLINOIS LIBRARY SYSTEM BOARD MEETING**

Friday, October 23, 2020 1:00 PM

Zoom Meeting

https://railslibraries.zoom.us/j/93466000109?pwd=RHhOanNSRXJ5Q0VNSWx6RElXWkhkQT09 Meeting ID: 934 6600 0109 Passcode: 719648

Passcode: 719648

## AGENDA

- 1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS Michael Campbell, President
- 2. ROLL CALL OF RAILS BOARD MEMBERS Emily Fister
- 3. RECOGNITION OF GUESTS Michael Campbell
- 4. PUBLIC COMMENTS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS Michael Campbell
  - 4.1 Videoconference sites
    4.1.1 RAILS Burr Ridge
    4.1.3 RAILS East Peoria

## 5. CONSENT AGENDA – Michael Campbell

- 5.1 Approval of the Agenda
- 5.2 Approval of RAILS Board Minutes of September 25, 2020 Regular Meeting
- 5.3 Approval of Expenditures September, 2020 Jim Kregor
  - 6. RAILS Financial Report for September 2020- Jim Kregor

Continue with regular agenda

- 7. REPORTS
  - 7.1 Report from the RAILS President
  - 7.2 RAILS Board Committee Reports-Committee Chairs
    - 7.2.1 Advocacy Committee Jenna Nemec-Loise
    - 7.2.2 Consortia Committee Paul Mills
    - 7.2.3 Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee-Dianne Hollister
    - 7.2.4 Executive Committee Michael Campbell
    - 7.2.5 Policy Committee Thomas Stagg
    - 7.2.6 Resource Sharing Committee Deirdre Brennan
    - 7.2.7 Universal Service Committee Sue Busenbark