RAILS BOARD NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEETING

Wednesday, March 25, 2019 | 9:30 a.m. RAILS Burr Ridge Service Center and by Teleconference

MINUTES

1.0 WELCOME AND CALL TO ORDER

Committee Chair Kate Hall called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. on Wednesday April 18, 2018. Ms. Hall thanked the members for agreeing to serve on the committee.

2.0 COMMITTEE MEMBERS' ROLL CALL

Committee member present at Burr Ridge: Kate Hall, Peg Danhof, Leora Siegel Committee members attending by phone: Lisa Marie Smith, Alissa Williams Absent: none

3.0 RECOGNITION OF GUESTS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

Burr Ridge: Dee Brennan, Mary Witt, Emily Fister

4.0 PUBLIC COMMENTS

None.

5.0 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Ms. Siegel moved for the adoption of the agenda, Ms. Danhof seconded and the motion was approved.

6.0 DISCUSS RECRUITMENT OF BOARD CANDIDATES

Ms. Witt reported that we have received eight at-large nomination forms. We expect Scott Pointon to again run for his at-large seat and Sue Busenbark to run again as a Trustee candidate. There is a vacancy for the at-large seat of Daisy Porter-Reynolds. Current board member, Michelle Simmons, holds a trustee seat and will not be running again. We have no special library candidates at this time. The election will be conducted on the RAILS website and will be open from Monday, April 30 through Friday May 18. The committee members discussed recruitment and all volunteered to contact various RAILS members to encourage their candidacy. If after the committee recruitment the ballot is still not full, the nomination deadline can be extended.

7.0 DISCUSS TIMELINE FOR 2019 RAILS BOARD ELECTION

The committee reviewed the timeline and agreed to hold a meeting in April and in May. Ms. Brennan reviewed the process of the vote count, verification and the slate of officers and the duties of the committee going forward.

8.0 NEXT NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEETING

The next meeting will be held Monday, April 15 at 9:30 am. The following meeting is scheduled for Thursday, May 23 at 2:00 p.m.

9.0 ADJOURN

A motion to adjourn was made at 10:27 a.m.

Kate Hall, Director, Northbrook Public Library
Peggy Danhof, President, Fountaindale Library
Leora Siegel, Director, Chicago Botanic Garden
Lisa Marie Smith, Youth Services Librarian, Vernon Area Public Library District
Alissa Williams, Director, Morton Public Library